"A mixed bag! in A and E"

About: Royal Blackburn Hospital

I had to call an ambulance last night due to severe chest/rib/lung pain. The paramedics were 1st class. I felt guilty to have used their time but needed them at the time. Two men from Accrington just fab! I went to A and E at Royal Blackburn. I received a real missed bag of treatment. First male nurse nice enough gave me painkillers and morphine but never came back to check on me just moved to another bay. About two hours or so later another Nurse came to do obs and could see I was in pain and got more morphine straight away. That did alleviate the pain. At changeover I needed the loo a bit of a performance in the end a chair brought and taken to one further away. Then the best nurse came on a Sister. The male nurse who came on and was supposed to be my named nurse was just rude and not interested! The Sister was fab (I never saw a doctor but although disappointed in that I trusted her). She was thorough, pleasant, put me at ease and arranged an x ray. On discharge I got painkillers and good advice. Thank you Sister for looking after me so well.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Royal Blackburn Hospital

Many thanks for your feedback on your experience of our emergency service, and thank-you for taking the time to do so. I will make sure your appreciation of the staff mentioned and also your comments about staff attitude are passed onto the teams concerned. I am very sorry to hear that your recent experience with us wasn't 100% what you expected as we always strive to deliver safe, personal & effective care. If you would like to talk through your visit to us with one of our Patient Experience team so we can understand the bits of your experience that made this such a mixed experience for you we would really value this so that we can try to improve things for every patient visiting our hospitals and services. You can either contact me (Wendy Stobbs) on 01254 734471 or email me on wendy.stobbs@elht.nhs.uk. Or if you prefer you can discuss further any concerns you may have about our services with our Customer Relations team on 01254 733700 or complaints@elht.nhs.uk who can advise you of your options in raising these concerns further. Many thanks again for commenting and best wishes on your recovery Wendy Stobbs, Patient Experience Facilitator

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful