"I unfortunately attended The Mayday ..."

About: Sutton Hospital

(as the patient),

What I liked

I unfortunately attended The Mayday instead of Sutton by mistake, I tried calling immediately I realised this mistake to apologise and to re-book, both myself and switchboard tried for over 20 minutes to speak with the eye OPD, neither of us got a reply, even via direct line, I then tried PALS, nobody available either at Sutton or Epsom to assist - pretty poor I thought!

What could be improved

Someone could have answered the phone

Anything else?

I left a message on PALS answerphone to call me back, still waiting - pretty poor again!

More about:

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Sutton Hospital

I am sorry to hear that you were unable to get a response from either the eye unit or the Patient Advice and Liaison Service (PALS) when you needed to contact us. As the manager of the PALS service, please accept my sincere apologies for this. We are not always able to answer the phone; as we may be with patients or on the wards, however we do aim to respond to any messages as soon as we can. I am more than happy for you to contact me on the PALS number 020 8296 2508 if you would like to discuss this further.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful