"Total Knee Replacement"

About: Kettering General Hospital

Having only just found this page, i felt that I needed to write a report on Ashton Ward where i stayed for 9days, in June 2013. The staff were brilliant, except one night staff, although the member of staff was not particularly unpleasent to me, the member of staff was to two other ladies on my unit, who were disabled and older than my self. and were very distressed by this attitude. So other than this member of staff, my stay was brilliant, the staff were brilliant.....although they were overworked and understaffed. the food was very good and the only complaint here was the lack of hot drinks during the day...being a tea drinker I missed my cuppa. Can a volunteer be brought in to make the patients drinks during the day?......I think maybe a day room would be a good idea, then the parients who are not actually sick, only temporarily disabled, be able to make their own, read or watch T.V Well done Ashton, you are brilliant...... Rosemary

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Kettering General Hospital

Thank you very much for the positive five star comment you gave to Ashton ward following your total knee replacement. This will be shared with all the team who I’m sure will appreciate the time you have taken to do this. Ashton ward normally has volunteers to help us with giving out teas and coffees four hours each day from Monday to Friday although not on a Wednesday. It may be that when you were an inpatient our volunteers were on holiday so I’m sorry there was a lack of hot drinks for you during the day. With regard to the member of night staff, it may be helpful for you to speak directly to Stephen Matthews, Charge Nurse on 01536 492765 and he can then investigate this matter further. Thank you once again for your kind comments. Stephen Matthews Charge Nurse, Ashton Ward

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful