"Bad time keeping &poor communication"

My husband was referred here after an eye test at our opticians His first appointment we were told he couldn't see the Dr as he needed to have drops put in his eyes & wouldn't be able to drive after. As this had not been put in his letter- which we showed the staff No apology!His next appointment 1month later we arrived early but 45 minutes past his appointment time he still had not had the drops put in & 9 patients had been seen we were not offered any explanation why we were still waiting my husband said he felt they were taking the mick. At the hospital you have a member of nursing staff write up an apology notifying clinic running late by---- time This is a private run hospital with poor practice. At least with the nhs main hospital you know you have to expect long waits!

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Phoenix Hospital

Thank you for posting your feedback. We are sorry that you feel we have not met the high standards that we pride ourselves on delivering to our patients. A letter was sent to you with information regarding your initial appointment and the fact that you would have drops put in that would prevent you from driving afterwards. This appears to have been mislaid in transit. Although we do not operate a notice board system there is a nurse on duty in the outpatients department and two receptionists on hand who would have been more than willing to check on your progress in the clinic. Unfortunately it was an unusually busy clinic today and was running rather late. Some patients required longer with the consultant to ensure they received the appropriate treatment. We did offer to try and bring your appointment forward but unfortunately you left as we were trying to sort this out. Through our patient satisfaction surveys we are regularly scored 98% and above as providing an excellent service. We apologise that you feel we failed on this occasion, I am sure you can understand that as a hospital it is not always possible to run the clinics to the exact time slots and as such we appreciate your patience during these clinics.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful