About: Kettering General Hospital

I went today for a colposcopy. The worst experience in a very long time. Nearly every member of staff was rude, condescending and hurried in everything they said and did. I have no idea whats happening. Two things that will stick with me for a very long time: telling the doctor that I was in a lot of pain and his response being "no you aren't" and that apparently theres a 95% risk of cancer but nothing will be done about it until the biopsy comes back in 4-6 weeks! I was also told the opposite to what was written in the pamphlet they gave me and told that the pain would disappear in minutes. 19 hours later I can't sleep due to the pain being so intense even with strong painkillers.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Kettering General Hospital

I was very saddened to hear that you feel you had a poor standard of care whilst you were in our Outpatients Department; the team here strive to deliver a high standard of care whilst keeping the individual at the heart of that care. Please accept our sincere apologies for the experience that you had, but please feel reassured that that it is very unlikely that you have cancer, there is a greater than 95% chance that you do not have cancer and that as soon as we have the results from your biopsy we will contact you immediately. I will discuss your feedback with all the staff so that we can endeavour to improve our service for all our patients. Please, once again, accept our apologies and we would welcome the opportunity to discuss your concerns with you and would ask that you contact the Patient Advice and Liaison Service (PALS) 0n 01536 493305 Heidi Newman Sister

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful