"A cancelled appointment"

About: Medway Maritime Hospital / Trauma and orthopaedics

(as a relative),

My orthopaedic appointment was for 10: 00, although I have a previous appointment in the Galton day unit at 9: 30. I arrived to book in for my my 10: 00 appointment at 9: 30 to be told the fracture clinic had been cancelled due to the Doctor being off sick. I ask to book another appointment but was told I had to call the Doctors secretary, although someone should ring with a new appointment. I called the secretary who only works between 10: 00 - 16: 00, So decided to call the appointment cancellation number on the letter for my 10: 00 appointment. I spoke to Michelle who booked me another appointment. At 9: 28 I received a txt telling me my appointment had been cancelled, but which one? at the time I knew, but if I was late it didn't tell me if it was the orthopaedic or cancer appointment

The Medway Maritime Hospital is huge, surely there are Doctors/Consultants to cover when someone goes of sick or does everything come to a standstill.

My husband has been recently diagnosed with Myeloma and was looking forward to being told he could use his fractured leg today, which would have boosted his moral, instead this had just been something else that has bought him down.

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Medway NHS Foundation Trust

Thank you for taking the time to offer us your feedback.

Please accept our apologies that your appointment was cancelled, however this was unavoidable. The orthopaedic department had two doctors off sick and we were unable to cover the clinic due to the short notice.

If you would like to discuss this further then please do not hesitate to contact me:

Sam Chapman, Senior Service Manager

Telephone 01634 830000 ex3856

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful

Response from Medway Maritime Hospital

I would like to apologise to you for the recent cancellation of your clinic appointment. We always endeavor to find a clinician to cover a clinic in the event of sickness, however this was not possible and regrettably the clinic had to be cancelled. If you would like to contact me to discuss your issues, further my contact details are: Sam Chapman Senior Service Manager Anaesthetics, Theatres & Pain Management 01634 830000 ex 3856

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful