"Reception staff leave alot to be desired"

About: Queen Mary's Hospital

I have been to Queen Mary's Hospital several times for various reasons and I cannot fault the nurses and physiotherapists I have seen. However, myself and my partner have both received very bad customer service from the reception staff. From tutting to implying we were wasting their time, I am yet to have a good experience which is disappointing given that they are the first point of contact. I called today to ask about a referral and after I explained my query to the receptionist, who said nothing, tutted and then the line went dead. It turned out that my call had been directed, needless to say to the wrong department, but had said nothing to me to explain what the receptionist was doing or to ask which department I may have needed. I realise staff are very busy but politeness and giving your patients the time of day should still be important.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Queen Mary's Hospital

We are very disappointed to read your description of the service you received. If you would like to talk to the manager about your experience and if you have not done so already, then please contact the PAL Service at pals@stgeorges.nhs.uk or on 020 8725 2453 where staff will see what they can do to help. If we had the opportunity to discuss your experience it would help us make improvements.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful