"Waiting 24 weeks and still waiting"

About: Clarendon Wing, Leeds General Infirmary

(as a relative),

In early February my husband had an appointment at Leeds general Infirmary to see a consultant about a problem with his back following an MRI scan. We were informed he would need to have a nerve conduction test and would need spinal surgery. Since that date we have heard nothing. It has been more than 24 weeks.

My husband is self employed and has not been able to earn a living during this time. Our life is on hold and we have the holiday of a life time in January 2015, booked and paid for, which I can see slipping away.

What has happened to the 18 week RTT referral to treatment?

What has happened to my husbands appointment and date for surgery?

What is the matter with the process that a service which should be designed around the patient leaves them waiting more than 24 weeks?

Where is the communication with the patient to let us know what is going on?

If the senior staff involved in managing this process were to have no salary for 24 weeks would this spur them into making sure the process is better than this? ( I think so)

I am sure I will get the usual response "Thank you for posting your comment. We are very sorry to hear about your experience. If you would like to discuss the issues in person and confidentially please contact the Trust's Patient Advice and Liaison Service (PALS) on 0113 2067168 or email patient.relations@leedsth.nhs.uk."

This is not the response I am looking for, I would like the date of the test and the operation. I would like to know why your processes are so poor and we don't want to hear that the blame is on everybody else.

There is a patient, husband, father, son, family at the heart of this who are all impacted by this.

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Leeds Teaching Hospitals NHS Trust

Dear Mrs W

I am very sorry that your husband has been waiting so long without any communication or a date for his operation. I agree that this is not good enough and can see that it is very distressing and frustrating for both you and your husband.

We would be very happy to find the answers you have asked for however we do need some more details. Please contact PALS on 0113 2067168 or email patient.relations@leedsth.nhs.uk. I have made them aware of your post and they are waiting to help you.

Kind regards


Senior Nurse Patient Experience

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful