"I have been treated abysmally"

About: East Midlands Ambulance Service NHS Trust / Emergency ambulance Grantham & District Hospital / Accident and emergency

(as the patient),

I have Acute Prostatitis which is extremely painful and very difficult to treat and feel I have been treated abysmally by the Ambulance service and Grantham A&E.

I originally had a urinary tract infection and was treated for that by my GP surgery with antibiotics, I took a turn for the worse and returned a week and a half later to be given different antibiotics and painkillers, I was diagnosed with Acute Prostatitis, I then took a turn for the worse 4 days later at a weekend and had to go to the out of hours GP at Grantham Hospital and was then given different antibiotics and more painkillers, 3 or 4 days later I took a turn for the worse again and telephoned 111 and was put through to out of hours GP at Grantham Hospital who advised me to phone for an Ambulance so as to be Catheterised as my condition was in the extreme, I phoned for an ambulance and was refused as my condition was ongoing and wasn't life threatening, I then suffered the worst night of my life in extreme agony trying to pass urine and with no sleep, the next morning my Son took me to Grantham Hospital at 8. 30 am and I was Catheterised which was a relief and I was happy with my treatment, my Son took me home at Lunchtime and I then fell asleep for a few hours, when I woke up I stood up and was in pain and needed to urinate so I went to the toilet and made a mess everywhere, this went on for hours, after the first episode I phoned 111 and was put through to the out of hours GP at Grantham Hospital and they advised me to go to A&E again to have the Catheter changed and would arrange for an ambulance, I was contacted by the ambulance service and was told the ambulance was imminent, nearly 2 hours later no ambulance so I phoned them and was told they had up to 2 hours to pick me up, the ambulance took me to Grantham A&E which was very busy and I was dumped in the waiting room which was overflowing, I was triaged over 3 hours later and was told that what I was experiencing was normal and could go on for a couple of weeks. (confused. com) this experience has affected me profoundly and I wouldn't be bothered if I never saw Grantham A&E again.

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from United Lincolnshire Hospitals NHS Trust

Dear Steveo

I can only apologise for the way in which you were treated. It seems you have been passed back and forth and unfortunately ended up in A&E on a very busy day. I am unable to comment on your individual case as I do not have all your details. All patients are triaged according to the national triage system. I could look into the advice you were given and your waiting times if you would pass on all your details. Can you please contact our PALS team directly on 01476 464644 or email pals@ulh.nhs.uk who will be able to take your details to pass to me.

I cannot comment on the Out of Hours Service or East Midlands Ambulance Service.

Teresa Shepherd

Sister, Accident & Emergency, Grantham Hospital

  • Steveo thinks this response is helpful
    {{helpful-1}} other {{helpful-1 == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} so too

Update posted by Steveo (the patient)

Thank you for your response Teresa, I have contacted PALS by phone already today and am still awaiting a response.

The other thing I was very disappointed with is there are no drinking water facilities in A&E I was there from 10.20pm till 1.45am the next day, because of my condition I needed to drink water and there were children and Adults in A&E that were asking for water.

It was extremely warm and sticky with lots of people in A&E. I went to out of hours GP next door and was told to get water out of the tap at WRVS station but the water was warm so I told the nurse there I needed water for my condition and she said to me "are you [name]" and I said yes and told her about being refused an ambulance, and she said they had no right to refuse me an ambulance and gave me a cold cup of water and a PALS leaflet.

Response from Rebekah Marong, Communications & Engagement Support Officer, Communications and Engagement, East Midlands Ambulance Service NHS Trust

Dear Steveo

I'm sorry that, on this occasion, you were let down by the ambulance service.

We would like the opportunity to look into this for you so would be grateful if you could contact our Patient Experience Team on 0845 299 4112 or via PALS.office@emas.nhs.uk and give them details of the time for your calls and the location the ambulance was requested to attend they will investigate to determine whether anything could have been handled differently.


Rebecca Long

Communication & Engagement Support Officer

East Mildands Ambulance Service

  • Steveo thinks this response is helpful
    {{helpful-1}} other {{helpful-1 == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} so too

Update posted by Steveo (the patient)

Thank you for your response Rebecca

I will contact your Patient Experience Team now.