"A frustrating experience "

About: Telford referral and quality service (TRAQS)

(as the patient),

1) Answer phone message left, when you say you are unable to leave messages

2) I phoned to make an appointment with TRAQS. No guidance given about what I need/didn't need in preparation for appointment with my Doctor. Assumed it would be in conformation letter – but it wasn't.

3) Received another answer phone message to ring “The Practice” on a 01494 number so didn't know what practice it was. Still didn't when I rang – had to ask what practice?

4) Had to make a further appointment prior to the other one for field tests. Wouldn't it have a good idea to have them on the same day to avoid twice the travel?

5) When I go to see the doctor today, the field tests are not available (not scanned to computer) so no final/correct appraisal can be made of my eyes, delaying treatment and wasting time! If both appointments had been on the same day the doctors could have seen the tests.

More about:
Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Helen Handy, TRAQS & CAB Co-Ordinator, Telford and Wrekin CCG

Dear keen155

Thank you for taking the time to respond to our request for feedback.

to answer the points you raised:

1) We are unable to leave a detailed answerphone message due to patient confidentiality.

2) TRAQS are unable to advise of special instructions unless we have been given this information by the hospital/clinic that the appointment has been booked into. TRAQS are a referral hub and offer Choice of first out patient appiontments for all specialities and not just ophthalmology Each hospital/clinic is different and I am sure you can appreciate the we cannot provide information on all appointments which we book.

3) The Practice is a private ophthalmology clinic which is working in conjunction with the local hospitals to provide a quicker appointment due to extra pressure on the hospital clinics. I am sorry that you were not advised of this information and will communicate this to the team.

4 & 5) TRAQS have no control over how the clinics at The Practice are structured - perhaps you could provide them with feedback when you next visit the clinic. There could be a very valid reason why the two appointments cannot be merged on the same day. The Practice staff are the best people to advise you on this issue.

Thank you again for taking the time to provide the TRAQS team with feedback which is appreciated as it helps us to effect change when necessary or within our control.

I hope that you are soon able to receive a diagnosis and begin any necessary treatment to help your condition and improve your situation.

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful