About: Tameside General Hospital

i visit two departments rheumotology and cardiology. in rhuemotology i am treated very well, everyone is polite ,thorough and helpful. the doctor i see on a regular basis is very pleasant and very proffessional. everything is discussed and nothing is hidden from me and i always feel i was looked after and my needs attended to. however when i visit the cardiology department the initial staff are helpful and friendly but the doctors attitude is insulting and abrupt. the first time i attended this department they admitted they did not know what was wrong despite having evidence there was a problem. instead of further investigation they discharged me resulting in me having to attend again. i still recieved the same abrupt approach and i am not satisfied with my visit there. i feel i am on a conveyer belt and just a number unlike rheumotology. i have had lots of appointments cancelled after i have arrived at cardiology which has wasted my time and money

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Tameside General Hospital

Please accept my apologies for any inconvenience, distress or problems that were experienced by you whilst receiving your care under the department of cardiology. The Trust takes great care to ensure that important matters such as this are properly managed, however, on this occasion an acceptable standard has clearly not been met and the Trust has clearly not succeeded in meeting your expectations. Without the specific details of the outpatient appointment details of yourself and the clinician concerned it is somewhat difficult to investigate and ascertain the facts and address any issues and give feedback to the Dr who treated you However from a clinical perspective, a decision to treat and or discharge is based on the clinical information and how the patient presents on the day, so without the specific information it would not be fair or appropriate to make any determination at this time. Due to sickness and absence and changes in service, there has been cancellations and re booking of appointments which I can only apologise for but assure you that we try our utmost to re accommodate every patient as soon as practicably possible Once again, please accept my apologies for any inconvenience, distress or problems that were experienced by you whilst receiving your care under the Department Of Cardiology. Your reflection of the cardiology service will be shared across the team. John Goodenough Director of Nursing ‘’Would you like to help the hospital to improve its services further? We are currently looking for patients and carers to become involved in a development called “Patient Stories”. We want to know more about our services from the point of view of those who received them – what was good, bad, what could be improved, what should be changed. Want to know more about what’s involved? Please contact John Goodenough, Director of Nursing at john.goodenough@tgh.nhs.uk

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful