"The friendly welcome from the ..."

About: Queen Elizabeth I I Hospital (Welwyn Garden City)

(as the patient),

What I liked

The friendly welcome from the reception staff and PALS desk. They showed me where I needed to go and all the nurses I saw were very nice. Funnily enough I was born there nearly 30 years ago, found out I have to come back for an operation in 2 weeks time and glad it will be at the QE2. Much cleaner and friendlier than the Lister.

What could be improved

I was shocked to see that you do not grit your car park. I could not believe the amount of people trying to attempt to walk over the ice and snow using crutches and other walking aids. The ice was terrible. For the money you must receive from car parking (I myself paid £4 for a couple of hours) there must be enough funds to grit this area. I think it is unfair to make people walk over the ice and snow.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Queen Elizabeth I I Hospital

Thank you for your comments, especially about the friendly care you received while at the QEII recently. We will make sure that we pass them on to the reception and PALS teams.

With regard to gritting our pavements, roads and car parks, we do have a formal contract in place to do just that. As I'm sure you will be aware, over the last week or so the whole country has experienced a shortage of grit supplies. Our contractor was no different and we had no ability to seek help from the local authority as their supplies had to be prioritised for main roads.

Our estates staff did their best to clear as much ice as they could manually, but with the county experiencing the worst weather conditions in nearly two decades, their task was always going to be challenging. Thankfully gritting has resumed again and we would hope that we don't have to deal with such a situation for many years to come.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful