"Relatives visit to A&E"

About: Good Hope Hospital / Elderly medicine

(as a relative),

I visited A&E in July with my Uncle who been bought to hospital by ambulance from his care home.

The medical care that he received was good but my uncle is incontinent and the staff were aware of this, he was in A&E for 7 hours and I asked on several occasion if someone could change him I was told someone would come but they didn't, he was changed by myself and a nurse who was going to take him to the ward.

I understand the department is very busy but I think it is unacceptable that elderly person who is unable to communicate is left in this condition.

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Richard Parker, Managing Director, Good Hope Hospital, Heart Of England NHS Foundation Trust

picture of Richard Parker

Dear Wish853

Thank you for taking the time to feedback &, although we have had a very busy July, your uncles experience wasn't good enough.

Please accept my apologies. We will feedback to the team in A&E and if you have further difficulties please let me know.

Best wishes


  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful

Response from Ann-Marie Riley, Head Nurse, Good Hope Hospital, Heart Of England NHS Foundation Trust

picture of Ann-Marie Riley

Dear Wish853

I am very sorry that your uncle and yourself have had such a negative experience in our A+E department -what you have described is just not acceptable.

I will pick this up with our Matron for ED today. It would be very helpful if you could provide more details so I can pick this up with the team who cared for him-my email is ann-marie.riley@heartofengland.nhs.uk or you can ring me on 0121 424 9664

Kind regards

Ann Marie

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful