"Upset by delays in fertility care"

About: Good Hope Hospital / Gynaecology

(as the patient),

After one miscarriage, one ectopic, 5+ years trying to conceive, turning 39 this year, husbands tests coming back as normal, and finally having had an endometriosis operation in March, I was really looking forward to my much expected appointment in July, after 4 months of my operation and waiting.

I was asked to have the progesterone tested on the 21st of my cycle for 3 months (which I done), I was also asked to have several blood tests done, all of it completed. I am still suffering from the same problems that took me to have an laparoscopy for the Endometriosis in the first place, so this appointment, not put it mildly, meant the world to me.

Unfortunately, due to unforeseen circumstances (cancer of a member of the family abroad), my husband forgot about the THIRD test (that he had done already twice before). When he realised two days after the test was due, (after coming back from Australia and stayed there for 3 weeks), and one week before my appointment, he was told that my appointment was cancelled, and that the doctor will not see us while he does not come back to the GP, rebook the test, wait a couple of weeks to get the test done, then communicate this to them in Good Hope, and then enter again on the waiting list to be seen again. The secretary said that it will take a couple of months.

When I called the hospital, and mentioned that it was my appointment, it was about me, my issues and my race against time (as all the results so far always pointed out my own body's fault, not my husband's), and as my husband was already tested twice and results were fine and the same both times, and that he missed because his dad's got cancer and was abroad for 3 weeks, and came back one week before and forgot, I was told: "everyone has an excuse".

Sorry, really? And what about me? What about my race against time here? What about the fact that if I wait a couple of months more, I will probably start a treatment too late, leaving me with only some months before turn 40 years? What about my symptoms after the operation? What about all my results, do they count?

My doctor always came across as unapproachable, but this was taking it to the next level. I am absolutely upset and heartbroken to be treated and spoken to like that!

We are not thugs messing you about. We had serious problem to address within this FOUR MONTHS wait.

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Ann-Marie Riley, Head Nurse, Good Hope Hospital, Heart Of England NHS Foundation Trust

picture of Ann-Marie Riley

DearLost hope

Tank you for taking the time to post your feedback.

I understand you have been contacted today in order that we can resolve the issues you raised.

If you have any further concerns please contact us. You can email me at ann-marie.riley@heartofengland.nhs.uk or ring me on 0121 424 9664

Kind regards

Ann Marie

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful