"I still have a long road and believe the treatment I received first is unacceptable"

About: Frenchay Hospital / Trauma and orthopaedics Southmead Hospital / Trauma and orthopaedics

(as the patient),

a doctor working in frenchay made me feel belittled and treated me like I was being pathetic and as a health professional I don’t believe that it was in his duristition to make a patient feel so bad but u decide here is my story.

I went in to hospital in a lot of pain in my left hip to a point I couldn't walk so they admitted me to do tests and the first day I had a CT and was put on some strong pain relief. The next day I saw the doctor who examined me and said its probably just muscle you’ve had three kids and you need to get a grip and then he went on to say that he would take me off pain relief and put me on a topical gel and considering the pain I was in I thought he was mad but I was in too much pain to argue. He then said that he was sending in the general surgeons and if they didn’t find anything then he would send me to southmead to have a few tests and then if they didn’t find anything then I would be sent home and then he left.

The general surgeons were happy that it wasn’t surgical and just one hour later I was in so much pain that the nurses took it in their own hands to give me some pain relief. After that I was moved to southmead where they couldn’t find anything and asked what I was doing next when I said I was being sent home they were alarmed. They said I was in to much pain to go home so they would try to get me back up frenchay to have the proper care.

I was readmitted after some begging from southmead and this time saw a different doctor and they finally found out that I had trapped nerve but only after another two days in hospital they put me on appropriate pain relief and sent home.

I am now having the matter investigated but feel confused and upset about the whole episode and am now trying to get back on my feet some 9 months later and I still have a long road and believe that the treatment I received first is unacceptable

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Steven Sykes, Advice & Complaints Team Manager, North Bristol NHS Trust

Dear Sir/Madam – thank you for taking the time to post your feedback about the care you received at Frenchay hospital. I regret that you have clearly had a very poor experience, and I am pleased to learn that you have referred the matter for further investigation.

Regrettably I cannot comment on your experience any further because without more information I do not know the circumstances, and cannot say if the care delivered was as you describe, or if as can sometimes be the case, poor communication lay at the heart of the problems you encountered. Either way I apologise that you were clearly distressed and that no timely action was taken to resolve your pain and provide you with a clearly understood treatment plan.

I trust that the formal investigation will clarify the issues and provide you with some assurance that, where appropriate, the Trust and the clinician involved has learned from your experience to ensure other patient’s do not suffer in the same way.

Kind regards -

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful