"Speak to people...."

About: Freeman Hospital

Was kept waiting for an appointment which was quite early in the day. After 40 minutes still waiting but someone who had turned up on the wrong day was taken in before others. Spoke with the sister that it would help if people kept waiting were kept informed, she agreed and said this would happen. Eventually seen 55 minutes late incurring additional car parking charges and more time than necessary off work. Didn't get the impression that anything will be done to stop this happening again. This is nothing to do with lack of money, just poor management. The Freeman is generally a good hospital and does some wonderful work. Unfortunately, a lethargy displayed by a small minority of staff undermines this. Overall, not impressed.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Freeman Hospital

Thank you for taking the time to bring to our attention the concerns you have regarding the care you received at the Musculoskeletal Services Outpatients Department at Freeman Hospital. We are very disappointed that the care you received did not meet the standards expected and would wish to offer you an apology on behalf of the Musculoskeletal Services Directorate. May we assure you that the comments you have made on NHS Choices and those made to our Sister in the Department will be considered to ensure that any delays are clearly and easily displayed for patient’s attention and that your concerns around communication will be fed back to the department in order to avoid a repetition of the issues which you highlighted. Feedback such as yours is used in ensuring that the service provided is in line with patient and public expectations and to highlight occasions, such as this one, when we failed to meet those very realistic expectations.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful