"Dreadful experience"

About: Wexham Park Hospital

I was recently sent to the a and e department from my doctors, They rang ahead and I had a letter for the surgeons. I was in extreme pain. On arrival I checked in, explained that my GP had rung ahead and that I had a letter for the surgeons. 5.5hrs later I was seen by someone, I had had to sit the waiting area in extreme pain for all that time. Eventually I was admitted to hospital at 1.30am and told that I needed a CT scan which wasn't available until the morning and they would find me a bed. At 9.30am I was eventually moved to a bed having spent the last 7 hours on a trolley. I had to wait 2 more days before I was able to have a CT scan. During this time I was moved to a single room so that they could keep an eye on some older patients. On two separate occasions on pressed the emergency buzzer and each time it took over an hour for the staff to respond, apparently because it was a new ward and there were teething problems, one being that the staff couldn't see or hear the emergency bell! I was left with no painkillers for hours on end because they simply forgot about me as they room is so far from the main ward. When I was finally told I could go home it took 6 hours for my discharge medication to come through and then it was wrong and I was told it could be another 6 hours before they would be able to get the right medication! I left having had the worst 4 days of my life.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Wexham Park Hospital

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback following your admission to Wexham Park Hospital. I am very sorry for your experience. This is not the experience that we are aiming for and have been working hard to make it better for our patients. I would like to be able to investigate this further and would ask that you contact the Patient Advice and Liaison Service directly on 01753 633365 with your details and the ward in which you were staying. This will allow us to learn from your experience, provide feedback to the staff looking after you and ensure that we get it right for all our patients. Kind Regards Claire Marshall Associate Director of Patient Experience and Public Involvement

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful