"Discharged from care without my knowledge"

About: Leicester General Hospital / Rheumatology

(as the patient),

Recieved letter from my consultant's secretary saying my appointment was cancelled due to unforeseen circumstances and that I should please phone appointments to rebook. On phoning, I was told I had been discharged. When I asked why, I was told I had cancelled numerous appointments. I ask when these were as I always attend as I need treatment for a degenerative disease. I was told they could not help and I was to ring his secretary. When I called, lo and behold, there was no answer. I have now made a complaint. Is this how this hospital treats patients who need help and pain relief? In my opinion this is shocking care.

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from University Hospitals of Leicester NHS Trust

Dear Goddo,

We’re really sorry that you have been discharged from the care of your consultant. At this stage without your personal details, it would be difficult for us to explain why this has happened, so we would be grateful if you could contact service manager Sue.Sutton@uhl-tr.nhs.uk with more details. Sue will be able work with the PILS team to address the concerns you have raised through our formal complaints system.

We hope this issue is resolved as soon as possible for you and hope we can restore your faith in Leicester’s Hospitals.

Kind regards

Communications Team

Leicester’s Hospitals