"Emily Gibbons"

About: East Surrey Hospital

Emily, my daughter, attended on the 9h July after recommendation by two doctors at the Holbrook Surgery, Bartholomew Road, Horsham. She was referred to have an XRay that both doctors deemed was required to assist in their diagnosis. Upon attending she was seen by a doctor and an XRay was agreed. I have no problem with the doctor, whatsoever, but all the interview amounted to was another doctor agreeing that Emily should have an XRay. Upon visiting the XRay dept we were told that we would have to book another day for the XRay. I tended my respectful unhappiness about this saying that Emily came for an XRay, requested by two doctors, and we had come up from Horsham to fulfil that requirement. In the event this never happened and we have been committed to attending again at more cost, time and inconvenience. The receptionist apologised but said that was how it was. She was very nice. I do not agree that this is acceptable. I believe that the stress of a patient that goes for an XRay for a problem (in this case not expected to be serious) is not helped in any way by having the treatment deferred - particularly has that was what she went for. This is not my expectation of East Surrey Hospital and I am disappointed. My personal experience, over the last few years of East Surrey Hospital, cannot be more positve and I have always had the most exemplary treatment possible. However, with Emily she did not get the treatment (XRay) that she went for. Emily has an appointment tomorrow, Friday, for the XRay... Rex Gibbons

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from Ian Mackenzie, Director of Information and Facilities, Surrey and Sussex Healthcare NHS Trust

picture of Ian Mackenzie

Dear Rex Gibbons,

thank you for posting your comments about your recent visit to X-ray. I'm very sorry that you were so frustrated by not receiving the treatment you had expected. I will ask the x-ray department to have a look at your concerns and will post an update as soon as I can.

Kind regards

Ian

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful

Response from East Surrey Hospital

Thank you for posting your comments about your recent visit to X-ray. I'm very sorry that you were so frustrated by not receiving the treatment you had expected. I will ask the x-ray department to have a look at your concerns and will post an update as soon as I can. Kind regards Ian

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful