"Regarding Sleep clinic team- by Melanie"

About: West Middlesex University Hospital

The sleep technician and the receptionist were very helpful, professional and polite. I also like the self check in terminals. However my review is based on contacting relevant staff for an enquiry? When your staff are on a holiday or on sick leave why can't you have an automated message with a suitable contact number or diverted to another person? Unfortunately I was in urgent need to make other arrangements regarding my appointment with the sleep clinic. The numbers I was diverted to prompt me to leave messages. Unfortunately nobody returned my calls for one week? I eventually spoke to the team and that particular week the sleep technician was on holiday and the secretary was sick and that is why I didn't receive a call! That is not the fault of your staff but the fault of your system and organisation as you didn't provide cover! The impression I got after several Un-returned messages was unprofessional and your hospital does not care about their patients as simple phone messages are not returned!

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from West Middlesex University Hospital

Dear Melanie, Thank you for the frank and honest feedback, we are delighted with the 5 star rating for the Sleep Medicine Service and this will be passed onto the staff concerned; we will continue to strive to ensure all patients have the best possible experience within this service. However, we are dismayed to learn that you had difficulty in contacting and receiving messages from the clinic and we will ensure that during times of staff shortage that we provide a level of service that would be expected from all patients. Andy Finlay Acting Service Manager – Medical Specialties - Division of Medicine.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful