About: Manchester Royal Infirmary

Brought my nephew in on Saturday at 3.15pm as requested by mandoc, saw him then sent him to a@e where we waited for 4 hours then sent him to a ward where we waited another 5 hours only to br told he had bells palsy , he was sent home only to return by ambulance at 9.30pm Sunday. On Sunday we cannot fault the care and attention he got, but going on to ward amu the room he was given was ok but the rest of the ward was disgusting there was rubber gloves and dirty tissues and wipes on theffloor.

Story from NHS Choices


Response from Central Manchester University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust

Thank you for your feedback and sincere apologies for the length of time it has taken to respond. We would like to apologise for yours and your nephew’s experience on the Acute Medical Unit. While we were pleased to learn that he received the level of care and attention you expected initially on admission, we were sorry to hear that the cleanliness of the Ward was not of an acceptable standard. Your comments have been shared with the Matron for AMU who will continue to monitor the cleanliness of the ward daily to ensure that other patients do not have the same experience.

The Patient Experience Team

Central Manchester University Hospitals, NHS Foundation Trust

Recently read