"Hysterectomy/ovarian cancer and aftercare on..."

About: Lincoln County Hospital

From the first appointment through pre-op assessment the GOTMD team were very good, kind, caring and efficient, explained everything and what to expect. Pre-op nurse and anaesthetist very thorough. After the op Excellent care from all nursing staff, from when I started to come round to discharge. The first night nurse was lovely, very kind and caring and checked on me regularly during my first night. This set the tone for the whole of my stay. I have experinced some very poor nursing care after major surgery elsewhere in Lincs so was very nervous about my op. Food could be better, main meals not at all appetising I'm afraid. Discharge left me feeling a little bereft - no mention of any follow up regarding surgery although I'd been told I would know the results of the biopsy in two weeks I did think I would have an follow up by the surgeon's team regading the operation. I've just had a phone call to tell me I'm okay, the cyst was benign. After being unable to raise me on the phone yesterday the specialist GOMDT nurse rang before leaving for home at 6.30pm, late, another kind action to save me another day's wait. I've also since learnt that follow up isn't normally done, I report to my GP so that could perhaps have been made clearer.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from United Lincolnshire Hospitals NHS Trust

Dear Nin B 2,

Thank you for your kind comments in response to the excellent nursing care received on Branston Ward. I will ensure your comments are passed on to the ward team whom will be pleased to hear that you were so happy with your care. We always strive to ensure the care is the very best we can give so are pleased to hear that this achieved. In regards to your discharge I am sorry to hear you felt bereft, usually nurses explain about follow up as part of discharge planning, and whilst as you mentioned, the majority of patients are not followed up, what we usually advise is that if patients experience any concerns on discharge than they contact there GP whom will refer them back to us if required. I am sorry that you do not appear to have been informed of this, but am pleased that your overall experience was good.

Thanks again

Karen Bird

Junior Sister