"Nurse doesn't seem to care"

About: South Hams (Kingsbridge) Hospital

Was in extreme distress i had stomach pains like you wouldnt believe... Could barely walk and was mid panic attack... We went up to the out of hours service in kingsbridge with my father earlier on and went into the out of hours clinic. I was crying couldnt walk mid panic attack and both me and my dad were quite concerned (obviously) ... Anyway the nurse came in about 2 minutes after my dad explained what was going on and the nurse couldnt have cared less ... I couldnt talk as i was in so much pain. They said 'well we can't do anything here so you'll have to call the out of hours doctor'... Started to walk off back into the room they were originally in. I then called them back and started to try and explain my distress and they said 'well its probably just a waterworks infection' although i had no urinary problems and i wont go into my symptoms but was just obvious that it wasnt to do with my urinary tract. They then pottered off not giving us any more advice whatsoever. I cannot believe how rude the nurse was despite being in exteeme pain and distress not even reccomending other hospitals to visit. The only thing that could have possibly redeemed it was the out of hours doctor we called from totnes. Absolutely lovely and assured me i would be ok to visit my GP in the morning as the extreme pain subsided around an hour and a half later, he gave me lots of advice and made sure i was aware of what it could possibly be. Dont bother with the out of hours service- rude, not interested, and act like they arent even qualified to be a nurse. Rubbish.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from April Gradwell, Feedback, Engagement & Care Governance Manager, Professional Practice, Torbay and Southern Devon Health and Care NHS Trust

Dear Ashleigh

Thank you for contacting us. I am sorry to hear that you have had a poor experience. From the information that you have provided I am not clear on which service you have used as we do not have an out of hours clinic at Kingsbridge Hospital. However, I am keen to understand where you experienced this sub-standard care so that I can make sure it is addressed with those involved.

I would be grateful if you would contact our Feedback and Engagement Team on 01803 217 397 or feedback.t-sd@nhs.net so that we can investigate this matter further.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful