"I found the therapy too structured and inflexible"

About: Inclusion Matters Liverpool

(as the patient),

Waiting time for a first appointment was far too long – approx. 6 months.

I had interpersonal therapy. I found the therapy too structured and inflexible. I had to work within my therapist’s framework and understanding of my depression. I had to accept the viewpoint of depression as an illness and that I was ill, even though this isn’t something I find helpful.

I found that my therapist heavily endorsed the medical approach to mental illness, something which I expect the majority of therapists working within the NHS adhere too. I found this quite difficult but was told that unless I accepted that I was suffering with an illness, I could not participate in the therapy!

Every session I had with my therapist was recorded, this made me uneasy and only served to increase my feelings of anxiety. The most important thing for therapy to work is the relationship between the therapist and the client, however, I felt that a tape recorder in the room did nothing to promote this relationship.

I also felt that everything my counsellor said was very scripted “what I hear you’re saying”. This in my opinion is the worst time of counselling!

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Tracey Murden, Inclusion Matters

Dear Junction80,

I am very sorry that you have had a negative experience of interpersonal therapy. Unfortunately we have had along waiting time for some of our therapies due to the high demand for the service and I understand that this is very frustrating when you are waiting for help. We have been working hard on reducing our waiting times and I am pleased to let you know that this has now reduced.

Our therapists do sometimes tape record therapy sessions with client consent in order to ensure that we maintain high standards of practice and sometimes for therapists training in a particular way of working. I'm sorry that you felt uneasy having the sessions recorded and that this impacted on the therapeutic relationship.

We do offer a range of therapies and it may be that a different type of intervention would be beneficial to you. If you wish to discuss this possibility or to discuss the specific issues you raise in more detail, please don't hesitate to contact me on 0151 228 2300.

Yours sincerely


Tracey Murden

Operations Manager

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful