"Very Badly Managed"

About: Royal Bournemouth General Hospital

Hospital toilets and ward was not very clean. The staffs were arguing with each other and had little interest in the actual job they were meant to be doing. I was in for 24 hours before I was offered any food every time I was moved to a different ward they had just had their meals and there was nothing left to offer patients. Relied heavily on family to go to the shop downstairs to buy overpriced sandwiches. Elderly people on the ward were ignored when they rang the bell and one patient waited over two hours for a glass of water as the nurse forgot. Found the whole experience very distressing and degrading. The standard of care I reflects how badly managed the hospital is and everything that was wrong had nothing to do with funding just badly trained staff.

More about:

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Royal Bournemouth General Hospital

Dear Anonymous I am sorry to hear that you have had such a negative experience whilst attending our hospital in May. You have raised a number of concerns but have not mentioned the ward you were on. It would be helpful if you could contact our PALS office on 01202 704886 or pals@rbch.nhs.uk so that we can review more fully the comments you have made. Once again I am sorry to hear that your visit has not met the standard we aspire to. Regards Sue Mellor Head of Patient Engagement

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful