"Bad treatment"

About: Stepping Hill Hospital

After my 1st miscarriage (July 2009, 6weeks pregnant approx) I was treated well. After the second miscarriage (Dec2009 11 weeks 6 days pregnant) in my opinion I was left too long inbetween miscarriage and second scan to check everything had come away naturally. I ended up having an emergency ERPC (due to massive infection in my womb)and on lots of antibiotics in hospital for several days. After trying to conceive again to avail I asked my GP to refer me for infertility investigations (June/July 2010). I was told that myself and my husband had to have been trying to conceive for at least 1 year before she could refer me. Eventually I got the referral and it was discovered I had a blocked tube (Lap and dye test) which the radiographer showed me and explained what the radiographer was seeing. My consultant told myself and my husband that SHH did not do IVF on the NHS (they were the first words out of the consultant's mouth). The consultant wanted me to then have a laparoscopy to see further what was going on. In Sept 2011 I finally had the laparoscopy which came back that everything was clear. During this time lots of blood were taken from myself and my husband, I had to have a further DNA test to see if I had a genetic blood clotting disorder, I have never received those results the only advice I was given was if I got pregnant again was to take 1 junior asprin a day. In May 2012 I discovered I was pregnant again and started taking the junior asprin as directed unfortunately I miscarried again at just under 6 weeks. Finally in Dec 2013 I once again discovered I was pregnant. I waited until I had got past 8 weeks before making an appointment to see a midwife. The midwife wanted me to have a reassurance scan so arranged for one as soon as possible, I should have been 10weeks when I had this scan. Unfortunately all that was seen was an empty sac (No Baby). I was told my body would eventually realise that the pregnancy was non viable and would naturally abort the sac, I was to go home and phone the ward when I started bleeding another appointment was made for a further scan in 2 weeks. I naturally miscarried approx. 1 week later I had to request to be referred to the recurrent miscarriage clinic. Over two months later my appointment came through and although the nurse I saw was very pleasant and helpful, the nurse couldn't find the blood results of the DNA test I had in 2011. The nurse took some bloods from me and told me to ring a number in four weeks for the results of the tests. I have tried ringing the number and get passed around from ward to secretary, everyone telling me they can see my results but cannot tell me them. The secretary of the Dr I am now under said that they would ask the Dr to write to me with the results (2 weeks ago) Something which was meant to have done anyway. I have not yet heard anything from the hospital. Needles to say my opinion of the womens unit at SHH is very poor. I feel because of mine and my husbands (we are both in our early 40s) age they hope we are just going to give up.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Stepping Hill Hospital

I am very sorry to read about your experiences and the difficulties you have had. We always remind staff of the importance of effective communiction and I will pass on your comments for feedback. Please contact PCS if you would like us to help with any of your concerns. We can be contacted on 0161 419 5678.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful