"poor communication"

About: Macclesfield District General Hospital

This relates to a family member as a patient on ward 4. My relative has a number of co morbidities and is very vulnerable. As a family we struggled to get clarity as to current management of their condition from nursing staff, indeed we were ignored much of the time. Only one nurse and a junior doctor had any time for us and did their best. We had asked to speak to a respiratory nurse specialist who was involved in our relatives care, but despite her being on the ward and clearly visible to us, she avoided us also. We had concerns regarding prescribed medication left beside our relative even though they were unable to swallow at that point. A lot of the drugs could have had a positive effect on our relatives condition had they been administered, even in a easier to swallow form. We often found our relative in soiled clothes, with an overflowing catheter bag. My general feeling was one of frustration and disapointment. I work for the NHS in a different Trust and find this recent experience extremely worrying

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Macclesfield District General Hospital

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on the NHS Choices website. I was very disappointed and sorry to read the comments you have made regarding the poor communication with you and your family and the concerns you have about your family members care and treatment. If would like to discuss this further please contact the Customer Care Team on 01626 661449 or e-mail on ecn-tr.CustomerCareSevise@nhs.net who will be more than happy to assist you. Thank you

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful