"Nothing but messed around"

About: Woodland Hospital

I'm currently receiving treatment at this hospital for ongoing abdominal issues. My initial appointments & scans I have no quarrelles over. When I went back for my scan results a decision was made for me to have a diagnostic laparoscopy and that they wanted to go ahead with it that Thursday ( this was devised on a Monday ) . I was told to go home and await a all by Tuesday afternoon to confirm what time I needed to be in for the surgery Thursday, I recieved no call. Still not having heard anything by the Wednesday afternoon I chased it up myself to find I was no longer having this on the Thursday but not one member of staff had confirmed this to me. Over a week later I called to see if there was any development in my case and to see it there was a date and time for my surgery ( this call was made on a Tuesday), yet again they decided to tell me they were looking at doing the procedure that Friday but they were waiting for the confirmation from the matron she was happy to sign this appointment off . I promised a call back with an answer that day. I did not receive a call back so on the Wednesday wasted more of my time chasing the issue up with no contact and little help from the staff on the admissions line! Again I was promised a call back on the Wednesday within the hour and I never recieved this! After calling the hospital and chasing this matter up myself I then was told they've changed the appointment to August 12th and to await confirmation! Not only have I lost out on wages at work the nurse I was dealing with was extremely rude stating and I quote "if your mother cannot make the appointment if we agree if for Friday then you'll have to bring some other person" . As a young adult having your parent there is a comfort when your feeling uneasy about something so to be told this my blood was boiling! I'm now awaiting confirmation of the surgery in August if that doesn't get cancelled either

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Woodland Hospital

Thank you for your feedback about your patient experience to date We are disappointed that the service has not met your expectations and would like to have the opportunity to review in detail and respond to your queries. We value our patients’ comments as it is only by listening to these that we can continue to develop and improve the service we offer. We hope you have received confirmation of your surgery.Please would you contact the General Manager at the Woodland Hospital in order for us to formally acknowledge your issues and respond in detail.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful