"Waiting for a bed"

About: Royal Blackburn Hospital / Neurology

(as the patient),

Recently I have been diagnosed with inflammation on the brain. Due to exams my mother put the admission into hospital on hold. I have finished my exams and was meant to be in on Monday. We have had to ring up asking if a bed is ready, and keep on getting not yet. It is preventing my mother from working as she is scared of anything happening to me, and the family have gone out of their way to make my admission easier. I have had my bag packed since Monday morning, and am now feeling nervous.

The only consolation that I have is that someone in a worse position than I am has my bed, if there are many worse things than having sharp headaches, loss of balance and the possibility of your brain becoming damaged due to this.

However, getting the appointments was a breeze, and I thank them.

More about:
Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Wendy Stobbs, Patient Experience Manager, East Lancashire Hospitals NHS Trust

Dear C Wright

I'm sorry to hear that you're waiting to be admitted to a neurology ward, and hope your exams have gone well. Can I just check which hospital this admission was planned to be at as we don't have facilities for some types of neurology investigations at Royal Blackburn Hospital; however we do provide clinic space for neurology consultants from other hospitals.

Could you possibly email me on wendy.stobbs@elht.nhs.uk or ring me if you prefer on 01254 734471 for me to find out where things are up to for you?


  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful

Response from Royal Blackburn Hospital

Many thanks for your feedback on your experience, I note that the comment dates from when you visited our Trust in June 2014, this was posted on 25 June 2014 using Patient Opinion. We asked you to provide further information to assist us to investigate the matter but note that we did not hear from you. Patient Opinion have recently uploaded your comment on NHS Choices, please contact us if you feel we may still be able to assist you. If you would like to talk through your visit in more detail, please contact one of our Patient Experience team so we can understand the bits of your experience that made this such a poor visit for you we would really value this so that we can try to improve things for every patient visiting our hospitals and services. You can either contact me (Meg Davey) on 01254 733698 or email me on Margaret.davey@elht.nhs.uk. If you would like to share your experience in confidence with an independent organisation please contact Healthwatch BwD on 01254 504985 or info@healthwatchblackburnwithdarwen.co.uk Or if you prefer you can discuss further any concerns you may have about our services with our East Lancashire Hospitals Trust Customer Relations team on 01254 733700 or complaints@elht.nhs.uk who can advise you of your options in raising these concerns further.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful