"Unhappy experience at Moseley Hall Hospital"

This facility is way past it's best wards are small (one ward is closed due to a leaking roof) they are dirty tired and not conclusive to treating patients with dignity and respect. A few of the staff are caring and polite but the majority are under staffed and try to do as little as possible. I witnessed one patient who was wheelchair bound pleading for over 30 minutes for someone to assist him going to the toilet the staffs response was they were short staffed and too busy (2 of them where chatting at the mobile medication dispenser for the whole period). The communal area where patients eat their meals and watched tv was terrible, dirty, broken furniture of poor quality. On one occasion I reached under a bed to pick up a dropped item - it had a soiled garment , one sock and an old news paper underneath it all had a thick layer of dust on them. I feel sorry for those members of staff who care about their patients as their efforts will be impacted by the overall attitude of non caring, just want to get my shift over attitude. But I feel more sorry for the patients who have to suffer this example of everything which is wrong with the NHS

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Moseley Hall Hospital

I am so sorry you found the cleaning standards and staff attitude at Moseley Hall Hospital so very poor, and the situation you describe is unacceptable. We are grateful that you have taken time to leave your feedback so that we can make necessary changes and improvements. In order to address the issues you have raised, we will need to understand which ward you have visited, and if possible any staff names of the people you observed. Please contact Alison Last, Associate Director of Patient Experience on 0121 466 7128 or email alison.last@bhamcommunity.nhs.uk at your earliest convenience to provide this necessary information. Thank you.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful