"Orthopaedic appointment"

About: Kettering General Hospital

I have been waiting 6 weeks now just for an appointment date. I saw an orthopaedic consultant at the beginning of last year with regard to my back. After examining me, he said he didn't really specialise in backs and didn't do injections so I would need to see someone else. I had had an MRI scan so the problem was clear yet I was sent to this consultant. I eventually saw another consultant who administered a steroid injection and nerve block in my back. I need to see this consultant again - same problem - but the appointments centre are continuing to try and send me back to the first consultant who I keep telling them can't help me. Why are the hospital so intent on trying to waste my time and the consultant's time by referring me to the wrong one. Presumably it has something to do with trying to hit targets. Absolutely ridiculous. I should not have to keep chasing people trying to sort this out. I have even complained to PALS but that doesn't seem to have made a difference either.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Kettering General Hospital

I am sorry to hear that you have been experiencing some problems with appointments to see a consultant with regard to your back. I apologise for this on behalf of the Trust. I can see from our patient computer system that you had an appointment with an Orthopaedic Consultant, with a follow up appointment being arranged for September. If you are still or have any further issues with regard to this matter please contact either our PALS department or myself on telephone number 01536 491227. Amanda Punter Patient Experience Facilitator Surgery, Paediatrics & Women’s Health CMT

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful