"Stayed in for one night"

About: Southmead Hospital

The hospital is beautiful, but the staff are terrible, they dont seem to care, no one listens to what you are asking and they are half way out of the door before you finished talking to them. I have had many stays in taunton hospital, it is not shiny and new, but the staff are fantastic and it it make it a brilliant hospital. When I stayed in at southmead even though I was asking for food from 4pm, at 8.30pm they finally brought me a lettuce leave and half a tomato and a slice of onion, they had no food for coeliacs , i was told there wasnt to much call for it!! Someone needs to take control of this place

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Southmead Hospital

Dear Anonymous, Thank you for your comments. We are very sorry that you did not have a very good experience during your stay in Southmead Hospital. Your comments will be shared with staff as this not the standard of care that we would expect any patient to receive. We are very sorry that you were not offered a choice of food during your admission. We would wish to advise you that our menu does have food that is specific for patients who require gluten free food, and we apologise that the staff misinformed you by stating that there was no food for coeliacs, and that there wasn't much call for it. If you would like to discuss your experience further please contact us at: Complaints@nbt.nhs.uk or telephone us at 0117 3236646.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful