"From A&E to Redlands Ward (7days)"

About: Royal Berkshire Hospital

Admitted to A&E after unacceptable delay in ambulance response (quite another story). Got there to find that even though it was Monday afternoon they were under huge pressure, my condition was deteriorating and was on a trolley for something like 2hours..the nightmare scenario. However once the huge team of doctors and other specialistsgot to work on me the attention and care was first rate for both me and my family members present. Eventually I was moved to AMU where I was given excellent attention for the next 30hours before progressing to Redlands Ward for a further 5 days. Redlands is a very busy ward but I was impressed by its cleanliness and the conduct of the nursing staff. My only two complaints would relate to 1) washing facilities-one shower room was unusable because of the absence of a shower head!!! 2) My discharge was somewhat chaotic.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Royal Berkshire Hospital

Thank you for taking the time to feed back on your experience in the Emergency Department (A&E) and Redlands Ward. Your review is important to us and allows us to improve the services we provide to our patients. We apologise for the long wait in A&E; of late, the hospital has been under huge pressure for beds and this impacts on the department as we cannot move patients onto wards, resulting in delays and waits on trolleys. We do however ensure all patients are safe and that we meet their needs in a safe environment. We are currently undergoing an extension to the A&E department to increase capacity so hopefully this will reduce waiting times. With regards to the issues on Redlands Ward, it is not normal practice to have a showerhead absent in our bathrooms, however on this occasion, a patient placed toilet paper in the head to reduce the flow and pressure. This unfortunately resulted in the showerhead becoming blocked and unusable despite the ward staff's best efforts to unblock it. A new showerhead is currently on order. We are also sorry that your discharge was not well managed. Redlands is a busy ward with a quick turnover of short stay patients. Coupled with new physicians in post, who were familiarising themselves with the RBFT discharge process, this resulted in discharge delays during the time of your stay. Your comments regarding the cleanliness and nursing staff are greatly appreciated; we take pride in providing quality nursing care in a clean and acceptable environment. The lead nurse for Redlands Ward will pass all your comments on to the rest of the team, and thank you again for your feedback.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful