"wasnt offered a same sex room and was fed..."

About: Royal Free Hospital

I was admitted for a long term condition. being put in the same room as three ladies ( I am a man) for 1 night of my stay was upsetting. More concerning was the lack of hot food taking into account my dietary needs. I require kosher food and when I was admitted through a&e it took 24 hours till they found hot food for me. Even though the kosher meals are microwave meals. It is not the first time this has happened. I would like them to please try to get the food right. Eating properly is fundamental to my condition, and being offered egg sandwiches is really not ideal. In fact the bread makes me quite poorly as my stomach is not used to dealing with it. The poor nurses keep on calling catering for me but catering simply refuse to send the correct meals.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Royal Free Hospital

Sorry that you had to stay in a mixed-sex ward - we aim to place patients in single-sex wards, however, this is not always possible. We are also sorry that it took so long to give you a hot kosher meal. Thank you for the feedback - will make sure this is all passed on to correct departments.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful

Recently read