"Bad experience in my 21 weeks scan"

About: North Middlesex Hospital

I heard very bad reviews about this hospital but it was very close to my house therefore I wanted to give it a try also because the maternity unit was new. The appointments until yesterday were not great but also not so bad so I was quite ok with my choice. I had a scan last week for my 20 weeks and the sonographer was really kind. However we wanted to know the gender but the baby did not open his/her legs. Also she could not see some important parts of the heart, so she booked me another appointment yesterday. She said that I could confirm the gender in this appointment. The appointment yesterday was at 7:00 pm and when I arrived I was received by the Consultant which was really angry because she had tried to contact me to move the appointment and they had my mobile phone wrong. She treated me very badly, complaining and blaming me of my lack of responsibility to give them the wrong telephone number. Later she realized that it was the fault of the GP that provide them the wrong number although they have it right as they call me several times. She clearly was in a hurry to go home and was trying to finish the scan as soon as possible. I think it lasted only about 5 to 10 minutes. When I asked if she could please confirm the gender, she rudely replied that she had to do the important things first. Then she quickly looked the different parts of the baby and fortunately everything looked normal. Then she said the baby had the legs closed so she could not tell me the gender and that she finished all important things so I should just go home. I was so disappointed; I was expecting this appointment to confirm it for me so we could start to buy clothes and pick the name, but now I just have to wait for the scan at 32 weeks which I heard it is difficult to see the gender or until the baby is born... When I went home I was on tears and I felt I should not have been put under that stress. Anyway I am happy that health wise everything looks fine with my baby but I was really disappointed at the horrible treatment I received yesterday. It just gave me the reason to change hospitals so now I will go to UCLH which seems to have much better service. I would not recommend this hospital.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from North Middlesex Hospital

So sorry to hear that you were disappointed that the consultant could not tell you the gender of your baby. I am the head of midwifery. meredith.deane@nhs.net and would like you contact me so that we can discuss the issues you raised and improve our service for other mothers.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful