"unhelpful, pointless and a waste of my time."

About: Sittingbourne Memorial Hospital

I previously had an appointment at the Sittingbourne hospital but I had to reschedule due to work commitments. I re-arranged it so it would be on the 10th june. I arranged this appointment through your phone service. I got asked if I would rather the appointment be at Medway hospital Gillingham, I said no can I have it at the memorial Sittingbourne. I then got told I could but it would be a while to wait. I excepted and booked it at Sittingbourne. I then received a letter saying it was at green zone level 3. Not at Medway so I assumed it was at memorial like your employee told me. so I booked time off of work to turn up at the memorial to then be told it was the wrong hospital. This is not acceptable. I have lost £21.30 today by receiving the wrong appointment the fault being the NHS employee on the phone. I was told I would be reimbursed if I was on benefits which I am not,as I pay into the system, and I have done so since I was 15. This is the second time this has happened as I had to have a small operation and I got sent to the wrong hospital. I want to see justice as now im out of money and I don't have an appointment to sort out my long term problem that as a result hasn't been sorted out. I want to be reimbursed for my loss of work as the NHS has mucked up yet AGAIN. I get paid £7.10 an hour and on a Tuesday I work 12-3:15. appalling service, responses, communication and a waste of my time. Very dissatisfied.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Sittingbourne Memorial Hospital

Dear Emily We are extremely sorry to hear about the mix up over your appointments. In your review you don't say which service you were due to see. At Sittingbourne Memorial Hospital some of the outpatient clinics are provided by Medway NHS Foundation Trust and as you also mention a possible appointment at Medway Hospital, Gillingham, we don't think your appointment was actually arranged by our Trust (Kent Community Health NHS Trust). You can either ring our Customer Care Team in the first instance (details at the end of this message) or you could contact the PALS Team at Medway NHS Foundation Trust. According to their website this team is available between 9am and 5pm Monday to Friday, by telephone on 01634 825004 or 01634 830000 x5793 or by email at Pals@medway.nhs.uk. We really hope you manage to resolve things soon. Best wishes Customer Care Team Kent Community Health NHS Trust Tel: 0300 123 1807 Email: kcht.cct@nhs.net Website: www.kentcht.nhs.uk

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful