"Not pleased with Medway hospital ward "

About: Medway Maritime Hospital / Gastroenterology

(as the patient),

Was admitted and put on Keats ward. It was spilt as usually all male ward

People who are poorly do not need the added stress of not feeling safe. All the 6 women patients felt that men were wandering into the cut off section (which was what the lady ward was).

My husband was horrified when he saw where I was. One lady even had a panic attack over it. I had to comfort her.

Also, the washing facilities were disgusting.

I have spent a few times in Medway and this was the most awful experience.

It was cramped, and felt over crowded and facilities for women patients were not met.

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Medway NHS Foundation Trust

Thank you for the recent feedback following your stay on Keats Ward.

Please accept my sincere apologies that you were left feeling unsafe whilst waiting for a more appropriate bed to be found.This was not our intention to cause patients any unnecessary stress or anxiety and wherever possible we aim to move patients as soon as possible. The trust has been under pressure for beds for a few months now and we are always doing our best to accomodate placing the right patient, in the right bed, at the right time however this is not always possible.

This should have been explained to you and I apologise if this was not made clear to you at the time.

Keats ward does not have the facilities to accomodate for the needs of our female patients which I acknowledge.

The trust is currently refurbishing ward areas to meet the needs of all our patients and improve the experience.

Thank you for bringing this to my attention so that we can minimise the distress caused to our patients.

Scott Smeed

Head of Nursing- Clinical site

01634- 830000 ex 5982

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful

Response from Medway Maritime Hospital

I am sorry to hear about your negative experience during your stay on Keats Ward. I would like to look into your concerns more closely, so could I ask you to contact me directly so that we can discuss? Alison Streatfield Matron Keats Ward Alison.Streatfield@medway.nhs.uk

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful