"Mobility compromised"

About: Wexham Park Hospital

Admitted to Wexham with a bad UTI, this dealt with after a week. Not very mobile now, but able to,manage with a turner and some help at home. The UTI left me very weak so unable to get out of bed until it had been sorted, but once medically OK just dumped in an inappropriate ward [17] for two weeks, without physio and rehab, so now unable to stand to use my turner. As it is a dementia ward they are not set up for exercise or rehab, and the communication between ward staff, physio and OT people is terrible. Now I feel I have to learn to stand and walk all over again, three weeks is a long time as an elderly person to be bed bound. They did not even get me out, get me dressed in proper clothes and sit me in a chair. Just left in a ward gown, in bed, all day. Despite promises of discharge, no assessment carried out yet, so no equipment ordered - if needed - so I am just bed blocking in a hospital claiming to have a shortage of beds. Still there June 8. we could mount an invasion of Normandy and take France while this lot are getting their act sorted

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Wexham Park Hospital

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback whilst you are still an inpatient with us. I have passed your comments onto Michelle Youens, Deputy Director of Nursing for Medicine and she or one of the Lead Nurses will be on the Ward today to talk to you about the issues you have raised. I am sorry that you have had this experience and for the delays in your care. It is not the experience we are aiming for or expect for our patients. We will try to resolve this as soon as possible. Kind Regards Claire Marshall Associate Director of Patient Experience and Public Involvement

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful