"Basic cleanliness lacking"

About: Southmead Hospital

My Aunt had a day operation on Friday 30th may in the new Brunel building. On arrival at 6.45 am the bins outside we're overflowing with rubbish and the toilets on level one had not been cleaned. After waiting an hour we were shown to a lovely consulting room, but on further inspection there were spots of blood all over the floor. I asked to be moved immediately and the nurse apologised an moved us straight away. The room was very cold and my aunt had to wait for 5 hours before going down for her operation. There was one toilet for patients and relatives in the day case department and by lunch time it was very dirty. After being taken to discharge my aunt was only offered tea and 2 digestive biscuits by the nurse, we were told she would have one to care! No chance, the poor nurse was trying to discharge 8 patients at the same time. After being in the hospital for 9 hours I did not see 1 team of cleaning staff!! Where is the basic cleanliness! Great staff Very bad management!

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Southmead Hospital

Dear Mhill, Thank you for your comments. Firstly may we say we are very sorry that you and your aunt had such a poor experience when attending for her recent operation. We hope she is now feeling much better. When you attended the hosptial it was newly opened, we accept that we were experiencing some teething problems. Clearly the experience you had was not to the standard we would expect, for which we sincerely apologise. If you would like to contact us with your aunt's details we will investigate exactly what happened. You can contact us at: Complaints@nbt.nhs.uk and we will look into this matter further. Once again we are very sorry for the experience that you had.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful