"terrible service"

About: Sunderland Royal Hospital

My wife had an appointment in outpatients today, she arrived early for her appointment by 10 mins. After waiting for over an hour and a half (with our 12 week old son) a health care assistant came into the waiting room and announced that there is a 2 hour delay! I fully understand that the NHS is stretched to its limits and beyond at the minute due to government cut backs and the current environment we live in, but when my wife arrived and was clerked in for her appointment surley a member of staff could have mentioned that there was a delay. My wife had to leave without being seen to as she simply didn't have the time to sit and wait for two hours. This is unacceptable! If she had been told about the delay from the start she could have made arrangements for our son.

More about:

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Sunderland Royal Hospital

Thank you for your comments and we are sorry to hear that your wife was not kept informed regarding delays in the clinics. Please accept our apologies. Whilst our staff make every effort to keep clinic appointments running to time, this is not always possible due to unforeseen circumstances or if some consultations take longer than anticipated. However, we accept that timely communication in these instances is important and we are sorry that this did not happen when your wife attended. If you would like us to look into this further for you, please do not hesitate to contact the Patient Advice and Liaison Service either by email (pals@chs.northy.nhs.uk) or phone (0800 587 6513 - freephone).

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful