"Level of care and standards of facilities..."

About: Southmead Hospital

Car parking, minimum charge £3.00, if only for 30mins. Whilst my Mother is in a en suite room, the water is continually cold, care assistants offer to fetch some. Doors to wards (now called gates) are already broken. Hospital cages left in corridors, not locked away in the cupboards provided. Admitted Thursday 29/5/14. Friday 30/5/14 was not kept informed, only hearing a Doctor talking did we find out what was happening and then told it was Friday. Moved from AAU to a ward, but left for two hours in a wheel chair, with belongings sat on lap. The weekend seems to be managed on minimum staff. After complaining to a Oncology co-ordinator, and able to wait for Doctor's rounds things have started to get sorted today. Televisions are not available for hire, as in Emersons hospital and previously frenchay. No public restaurant, only machines and League of Friends, which sale out of sandwiches by lunch times and only open weekends 2pm to 5pm. As the Chief of the NHS, we odd not want these large hospitals, need more be said.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Southmead Hospital

Dear Relative, Thank you for your comments, firstly may we apologise for the poor experience you received when attending Southmead Hospital with your mother. We hope that her care has now settled and she is soon well. In answer to your concerns, the car parking charges are in line with other NHS Trust’s in the area and the £3 charge allows people to park from 0-2 hours, regrettably we are unable to offer specific parking charges for periods of less than 2 hours. The problems you have identified with your mother’s ensuite facilities and cages being left in the corridor has been fed back to the areas concerned for remedial action to be taken. We are very sorry that you were not kept up to date prior to your mother being admitted, again this has been fed back to the AAU staff for them to be aware of the importance of good communication with patients and their relatives at all times. With regards to TV’s we can confirm the Trust did go out to public consultation regarding this matter, and consensus was that the majority of patients were advising that they would use their own smart device to watch TV at their bedside. In the next month or two we can confirm that there will be retail services available for visitors and relatives to be able to purchase food. At the moment we do just have the League of Friends, and vending machines available. We are sorry that you have had such a poor experience. Please email Complaints@nbt.nhs.uk if you wish to raise your concerns as a formal complaint. Yours sincerely, Sue Needs Deputy Advice & Complaints Team Manager

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful