"I'm an ongoing outpatient ..."

About: The Royal National Orthopaedic Hospital (Stanmore)

(as the patient),

What I liked

I'm an ongoing outpatient at Stanmore. What I liked when I visited was the friendliness of the nurse and the speed at which I saw my consultant - I actually got in to see him several minutes before my scheduled appointment time, despite a warning notice on the board telling patients of a 45 minute delay!

What could be improved

The waiting list for outpatient appointments - particularly follow-ups - is unbelievably bad. After waiting from August to November to have an initial appointment with my consultant, he referred me for an urgent CT scan which I had in December - very impressed.

Unfortunately, the first follow-up appointment (to get the CT results) I was offered was 6th March, which I thought was bad enough, until I got a letter this morning telling me the appointment has now been pushed back to the end of May - almost 6 months from having a scan to getting the results. Unbelievable.

Anything else?

The hospital is so old and is looking really shoddy in parts. It's terrible considering this is meant to be a centre of excellence and is the Royal National Ortho hospital. I feel sorry for the staff having to work in some of the areas. It needs rebuilding, fast.

More about:

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from The Royal National Orthopaedic Hospital (Stanmore)

Thank you for your positive comments about the care you received when you visited our outpatients’ department. We pride ourselves on providing a friendly and effective service to our patients. We are disappointed, however, to read of the delay you have experienced in receiving a follow-up appointment. To reduce delays and meet the demands of increased referrals this year, we are currently recruiting additional consultants and other clinical staff. We are also aiming to schedule follow-ups after a scan within 2 weeks.

Your comments about the fabric of the hospital are noted. We are actively pursuing our plans for redeveloping the site at Stanmore so that we can continue to provide excellent patient care but in an environment that is up-to-date and fit for purpose.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful