"Cannot even describe how bad my experience was"

About: Tameside General Hospital

I have birth to my son on the 17th October 2013. I had to stay in the hospital for three days as my son had feeding problems. During labour the midwifes were lovely but after my son was born the problems started. I explained that I was feeling too weak to look after my son and was told I would be fine and carted off to thr ward. My partner had to leave at 4 am so I was left feeling alone and overwhelmed. I cried myself to sleep that night. During my stay the midwives would constantly pick on every minor think they felt I was doing wrong. I felt judged and certainly not supported. One example was I had my fan on in my cubicle and the midwife said I had to turn it off as my baby would be cold. He was very hot and so was the room so she was wrong! The final straw was the last day when a midwife shouted at me for asking for assistance with feeding. My friends was there to witness what I would call an attack on me. She was shouting and screaming for me to feed my own baby and to not be lazy and distant! Just when I thought I could no longer take it anymore a lovely midwife took over the night shift and I left the next day. Even upon leaving my husband asked if they needed to check the car seat was on right which the midwife replied with 'well how would I know how it goes'. Such an unnecessary way to reply and a valid question since we knew another hospital who do this. Horrendous experience and one that haunts me to this day.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Lindsay Stewart, Deputy Director of Nursing, Tameside and Glossop Integrated Care NHS Foundation Trust

I am sorry that you have had a very poor experience, during the birth of your son. Unfortunately we do not have facilities where husbands can stay overnight on ward 27. This should have been discussed with you so that we could support you appropriately I apologise that this did not happen.

I am sorry that your experience around correct feeding left you feeling unsupported. We are always cautious of fans on or around the baby’s cribs as they can soon cool down, but recognise that sometimes parents feel they should use a fan. And advice is always very carefully given around this.

Ward 27 has also recently introduced a system of hourly patient contacts to improve the care, communication and support that our women require and deserve throughout the 24 hour period. If this had been in place during your stay I would like to think that you would not have felt overwhelmed and alone.

The use of a car seat for transporting the babies home and the midwife not knowing how it works has always been a difficult area as many of the midwifes do not have any experience although this did not warrant the response you were given.

I can only apologise that you left our care feeling the way you did. I hope when you next have contact with the hospital you have a more positive experience. If you would like a more personalised response to discuss & address any detail of your hospital stay please contact Matron Anne Haggerty on 0161 922 6078.

Kind regards

John Goodenough

Director of Nursing

’Would you like to help the hospital to improve its services further? We are currently looking for patients and carers to become involved in a development called “Patient Stories”. We want to know more about our services from the point of view of those who received them – what was good, bad, what could be improved, what should be changed. Want to know more about what’s involved? Please contact John Goodenough, Director of Nursing at


  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful