"Operation cancellation"

About: Leicester General Hospital

How disappointed I was after months of waiting for my Turps Laser operation to be told minutes before that owing to no bed available the operation was cancelled. I had been prepared the week previously with the pre-assessment, arrived on the day for 2 hours of more preparation seeing nurses writing lots more information, seeing the consultant, and the anaethatist, having wrist label attached, only to be told minutes before being called it could no longer take place. So my beloved catheter remains for longer (how long). Very let down. A Roy Tatman.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Leicester General Hospital

Dear Roy We are very, very sorry for cancelling your operation at short notice and that you feel let down. We completely understand that cancellations are frustrating and worrying for those people affected and we hate to do it. We realise you must be especially disaapointed as you had your pre-assessment and two hours pre-op preparation. When we have high numbers of emergency patients admitted to our hospitals this can have an impact on our planned operations. Unfortunately due to these pressures we sometimes have to cancel and reschedule operations. This is purely because we do not have the beds to look after patients following their operation. We understand that this will be of little consultation, but hope it provides some explanation. If it hasn't already, your operation will be rescheduled to take place within 28 days of the date originally scheduled for your surgery. If you do not hear from us please contact communications@uhl-tr.nhs.uk and we will address this as a priority. Sincerely, Communications Team Leicester’s Hospitals

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful