"Lerwick Health Centre experience"

About: Lerwick Health Centre

(as the patient),

I visited the Health Centre recently and saw a super (locum) Dr, who was extremely helpful and explained every thing in a simple and easy to understand way.

The Doctor wanted a full set of blood samples and wrote out the lab form and asked me to make appointment with the nurse for these. (I've done this before so was aware nurses always take blood samples now)...was a bit disappointed that I have to wait I until mid June just for an appointment to give a blood sample... That's nearly 3 weeks! ! ! I was offered earlier but coincided with time I collect child from school, but even that was more than 2 weeks...

3 weeks to wait just for an appointment to give a blood test? Really?

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from NHS Shetland

Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry you have been unable to get a quick appointment for a blood test but unfortunately the Lerwick Health Centre is experiencing some short term absences, alongside planned leave, which has reduced the number of available nursing staff from five to two. This is having an impact on nursing appointments, however the situation should resolve itself shortly.

Thank you for your positive comments regarding the locum you saw, I will make sure these are passed on to him.

Ms Lisa Watt, Service Manager for Primary Care

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful

Updates, changes and questions related to this story