"there was no communication about ..."

About: University Hospital Of North Tees

(as the patient),

What could be improved

there was no communication about care. i was in emergency assessment for 10 hours and at no time was i informed of what was being done for me.

Anything else?

this is the last time i will ever visit north tees hospital voluntarily. the standard of care is extremely poor. i ended up walking out of the EAU after 10 hours because nobody seemed to take my pain seriously. i was in there for 7 hours before being offered any pain relief. every visit in the past has been the same. no-one appears to have any interest in patient care. in the EAU an elderly man was roaming the ward in just his pyjamas clearly confused but no-one took any notice of him. he could have walked out of there and nobody would have noticed. i did. i am still in pain and will visit james cook hospital instead.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from University Hospital Of North Tees

I am sorry you had such a disappointing experience when you were a patient in the emergency assesment unit at the University Hospital of North Tees. I will pass your concerns on to our director of nursing and patient safety and the matron for the area. If you would like us to answer your concerns personally then please write to The Patient Relations Manager, North Tees and Hartlepool NHS Foundation Trust, University Hospital of North Tees, Hardwick, Stockton on Tees, TS19 8PE.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful