"Consultant discharged me without me being informed..."

I first saw the Consultant, who after a Sigmoidoscopy, referred me on to another Consultant. At that appointment on 4th October 2013, I was given a prescription and told to try the treatment for 8 weeks, and if that didn't work I would be sent to have a further diagnostic test done in Leicester. I left the hospital with the impression that I would be sent a follow-up appointment to go back in 8 weeks, I certainly wasn't told I was being discharged. By March of this year, I was wondering why I hadn't received an appointment, so I rang the hospital only to find out that I had been discharged and that I would have to go back to my GP to get another referral back to see the Consultant. After seeing my GP, it appears that what I was told by the consultant was not mentioned at all on the notes in my medical file, and it didn't seem to me that the GP was willing to refer me back even though I still have my problem. My partner came in the consulting room with me when I saw the consultant, and heard what I was told, and neither of us understands why I was discharged when I left with the impression that I would be seen again. It would be nice to know why I was discharged. The Woodlands is a lovely hospital, and the staff were great when I went in one morning for the Sigmoidoscopy, but I am not happy that I was discharged without being told that was the case. In my view, there must surely have been some mistake because quite simply it just doesn't make sense.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Woodland Hospital

Thank you for your recent feedback provided online relating to your recent visit to the Woodland Hospital, and we are sorry to read that we did not meet your expectations during your outpatient visit and discharge process. We would like to understand the problems that you had and make changes going forward to continuously improve our service and would like to take this opportunity to invite you into the Woodland Hospital to meet with a member of the Senior Management Team to discuss these issues further. If you do not wish to come to Woodland Hospital for a meeting, a member of the Senior Management Team is happy to contact you via telephone to discuss these concerns. Could you please contact Sinead Austin, 01536 536 846, to confirm how you would like to take this forward. Kind regards, Becky Wood, Marketing Manager

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful