"Absolutely shocking"

About: Tameside General Hospital

This hospital deserves its dreadful reputation Went to A&E which was quiet at the time, had to wait 3 hours to be seen by doctor, then was told I needed to be seen by a surgeon. As I breached the 4 hour time limit I was admitted to a ward to be seen by a surgeon. After another 4 hour wait I was seen at 4am and was told I need surgery, and that I need to go home and call back at 8am to see when I can get a bed, and not to eat. I get up for 8am call the bed manager, and was told they will call me back before 9am and not to eat anything as my procedure may be in the morning. I heard nothing by 9:30am so called back 8 times between 9:30 till 12, I was either cut off before getting transferred or the phone just kept ringing, it wasn't until 2:45pm I finally got a call, which I missed. So I tried to call back (Even though they didn't leave me a number to call back on!) and couldn't get through, again the same reasons as above. So I never got the surgery I needed. I will be making an official complaint about this as this is not a way to run a hospital when someone is requiring treatment. NHS treatment across Tameside is disgusting, you can't get an appointment with your GP so you go to A&E and get fobbed off. I ended up going to the Manchester Royal Infirmary where I was treat so much better. Maybe some lessons need to be learned from this trust. Tameside General, not for the first time as left me wondering.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Lindsay Stewart, Deputy Director of Nursing, Tameside and Glossop Integrated Care NHS Foundation Trust

Thank you for your feedback regarding your poor experience following your recent visit to Tameside Hospital.

Please accept our apologies that we did not meet your expectations.

It is difficult to comment on an individual case without being able to review the medical notes, It is unacceptable to have kept you waiting longer than is necessary without keeping you fully informed. Dependent on the reason for your attendance to A&E and subsequent admission for assessment, it is common for patients to be discharged on a specific pathway to attend for surgery the following day with a plan given to contact the bed managers. I am very sorry that you experienced a delay in talking to the bed managers and certainly a delay in receiving your treatment. The bed managers are available on a bleep system throughout the day and have an office extension and are updated regularly of patients for the emergency surgical list. Without further information about your specific case I am unable to comment further regarding your experience

We need to improve on this experience and learn from your feedback so thank you for bringing this to our attention. If you would like a more personal and detailed response please contact Clare Williams Head of Patient Flow on Ext:0161 922 5177 who will be happy to look into this further and provide detailed feedback

Kind regards,

John Goodenough

Director of Nursing

‘’Would you like to help the hospital to improve its services further? We are currently looking for patients and carers to become involved in a development called “Patient Stories”. We want to know more about our services from the point of view of those who received them – what was good, bad, what could be improved, what should be changed. Want to know more about what’s involved? Please contact John Goodenough, Director of Nursing at


  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful