"Cataract Operation"

About: Ashford Hospital

My Mother who is 82, had her second Cataract Operation a couple of weeks ago. I cannot praise the staff enough on both visits who were very professional, warm and caring. My only BIG disappointment was that on our second visit the rules had changed and I was not allowed to sit with my Mother like on the previous occasion in February. My Mother found this rather unsetling due to the fact that she is hard of hearing and was afraid she might not fully understand what was being said. Also, to wait for what can be a few hours depending on your allocated time slot, can feel awfully longer if you have no one with you. Being able to chat to your companion makes all the difference. The staff apologised for the disappointment and explained that it was the new rules. However, because the Eye Team, the procedure and follow-up visit were excellent, I still recommend this Hospital.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Ashford Hospital

Dear Lynn Seager, Thank you very much for taking the time to post on NHS Choices and for your kind word about our staff in the department. As was explained to you this is a new policy which has just been brought in, which mirrors the policy on the main Day surgery unit at Ashford and St Peter's Hospitals. The new policy has been brought in as the eye ward at St Peter’s Hospital is getting increasingly busy, so it has been decided that’s its best that relatives drop the patients off and collect them after the surgery. The eye ward has general anaesthetic cases and local anaesthetic cases and we have to maintain privacy and dignity to all the patients. This is an open area so it is better to have this area as patients only. Having the relatives in the same area compromises this.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful