"General hospital review"

About: Wythenshawe Hospital

Having had many experiences of this hospital in last 10 years I have decided to rate the hospital as follows A9 very poor care and treatment A8 as above plus rudeness and incompetence Doyle ward -basic lazy ignorant staff F4 crowded dirty and very understaffed A15 excellent very kind and helpful F15 clean - understaffed- not all staff helpful - airy A5 very poor staff education on what they are supposed to be there for Dr's need educating on Parkinsons Disease - and have some manners and consideration Nurses same as Dr's also need to learn it IS their job to assist patients needing help Gynea - appaulling service, rude Dr's, lazy nurses Nightingal Center excellent is all I can say Ultrasound in antenatal - excellent unit Diagnostic units MRI and Ultrasound in A block what a joke this unit is A&E avoid at all cost, expect at least 5 hour waits, mother having minor heart attack left unattended with no monitor attached for 7 hours, brother left 9 hours in resus (staff very caring) he finaly died in there as no bed avail, stroke patient left in resus for 7 hours due to Dr's not being able to make their minds up, 82 year old mother left 5 hrs in resus after 3 strokes due to lack of bed. Porters - do they exist - you never can find one and nurses end up pushing you round very begrudgingly Fracture clinic don't bother unless straightforward break they do not know what to do otherwise Anticoagulant clinic - excellent and quick Heart unit -very good Appointments - do not expect quick apps - have recently had app cancelled 4 times due to clinics being cancelled Ambulances most staff helpful just don't expect to be picked up on time or within the 90 mins before your app that they tell you and expect at least 5 hours wait to come back home. Toilets - filthy dirty and smelly

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Wythenshawe Hospital

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on the NHS Choices Website. We would like to apologise for the delay in responding. Your compliments and concerns will be forwarded to senior staff in all of the areas you have mentioned. However, we would encourage you to contact the Patient Experience Team on 0161 291 5600 or via email at pls@uhsm.nhs.uk, if you would like to discuss any of the issues you have raised in more detail. Kind regards The Patient Experience Team

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful

Updates, changes and questions related to this story